About Lelant Village Hall
The Village Hall was originally a Primitive Methodist Chapel which was built in 1859. It was used until 1909 when, presumably, dwindling numbers of members meant it had to close.
The Tyringham Estate owned the property until 1924 when the Estate, through a group of trustees, formerly handed over the property for use as a Village Hall. This is the date commemorated above the entrance to the Hall.
In 1966 renovations to the Hall converted the old chapel to its present form; after the work was finished the Charity Commission drew up a scheme that defined the way the Hall was to be managed by a committee elected by villagers.
A new roof was provided in 2012 following a major fund-raising campaign by the hall committee.
More historical information about the Hall can be found on the excellent website produced by Maxwell Adams at www.lelant.info
Maxwell's detailed research into the history of Lelant provides fascinating reading.